Issue 2, 5th - 11th October, 2026
Welcome to issue 2 of The North Norfolk Briefing. Each week we summarise the public business of North Norfolk District Council. Every item links to the council's own published record.
AT A GLANCE
Planning Watch lists 18 validated applications and 30 decisions reported this week; the lines below flag the refusals, the prior notification refusal and the withdrawal. The licensing registers were not covered this week (see On the High Street).
- ⚠️ Have Your Say: North Lodge Park, Cromer, land appropriation consultation closes at 5pm on Thursday 15 October 2026, the day this issue is published. Council news item
- ⚠️ Have Your Say: Tunstead with Sco Ruston Neighbourhood Plan consultation closes on Monday 19 October 2026. Consultations page
- ⚠️ Have Your Say: Homelessness and Rough Sleeping Strategy 2026-2031 consultation closes on Thursday 22 October 2026. Council news item
- ⚠️ In the Chamber: a reserve Development Committee meeting is scheduled for Thursday 22 October 2026. Meeting page
- In the Chamber: Cabinet met on Monday 5 October 2026 and resolved to approve the Discretionary Disabled Facilities Grant Policy 2026-2028. Cabinet agenda and decisions
- In the Chamber: Cabinet resolved to approve a lease to Openwide Coastal Limited for Cromer Pier, extended to run with the Management Contract to 31 March 2033. Cabinet agenda and decisions
- In the Chamber: Cabinet resolved to agree a 25-year lease of Greens Road Recreation Ground, North Walsham, to the Trustees of North Walsham Football Club. Cabinet agenda and decisions
- In the Chamber: PF/26/0839, Blakeney, replacement dwelling at 54 Morston Road, was on the Development Committee agenda of 8 October 2026; the application page shows the decision Approve, issued on 12 October 2026.
- In the Chamber: Development Committee items PF/24/2184 (Fakenham) and RV/26/0627 (North Walsham) were on the 8 October 2026 agenda; no decision had been published when read on 15 October, and they are carried forward. Agenda
- In the Chamber: Overview and Scrutiny Committee met on Wednesday 14 October 2026, after this issue's window; outcomes will be reported in Issue 003. Agenda
- Planning Watch: PF/26/1218 refused on 6 October 2026: change of use of Parish Hall to a retail unit and three flats, 65 Church Street, Cromer.
- Planning Watch: PF/26/0921 refused on 9 October 2026: detached two and a half storey dwelling, Land North of Ambers Rest, Norwich Road, Corpusty.
- Planning Watch: NP/26/1948 refusal of prior notification issued on 9 October 2026: open sided straw barn for agricultural use, Upwood Farm, Green Lane, North Barningham.
- Planning Watch: PU/26/1748 withdrawn on 9 October 2026: prior approval for conversion of 3 agricultural buildings to 6 dwellings, Land and Poultry Sheds east of Ingham Road, Brumstead.
- Jobs & Tenders: Housing Pathways Team Leader, People Services, closes 18 October 2026. Vacancies
- Jobs & Tenders: Economic Growth Manager, Sustainable Growth, closes 1 November 2026. Vacancies
- Jobs & Tenders: Local Government Lawyer, Commercial Property, Legal, closes 25 October 2026. Vacancies
- Jobs & Tenders: Senior Planning Officer, Planning, closes 18 October 2026. Vacancies
- Jobs & Tenders: GIS Administrator, IT, closes 9 November 2026. Vacancies
- Jobs & Tenders: Temporary Register is open. Vacancies
- Jobs & Tenders: the council's tenders page lists no current tender opportunities; PROC158, listed as open in Issue 001, is no longer on the page. Tenders page
- The Countdown: no Norfolk and Suffolk devolution item dated 5 to 11 October 2026 was found; the search was of official sites and is not exhaustive.
- On the High Street: the licensing registers (temporary event notices, street collections, house-to-house collections, personal, taxi and private hire, gambling and skin piercing) were not covered this week because their PDF text could not be read. Licensing pages
- On the High Street: the council's Licensing team logged a consultation on the planning portal about a new premises licence at 16 Garden Street, Cromer. IB/26/2102
IN THE CHAMBER
Meetings in the window. Two meetings fall in Monday 5 to Sunday 11 October 2026: Cabinet on Monday 5 October and the Development Committee on Thursday 8 October. Calendar
Cabinet, Monday 5 October 2026. The decisions below are taken from the "Decision" text published against each item on the meeting's agenda and decisions page. The printed decisions file and the agenda reports pack were not opened, and the minutes of the meeting were not yet published when read. Cabinet agenda and decisions
- Item 8, Discretionary Disabled Facilities Grant Policy 2026-2028. Cabinet resolved to approve the policy, noting that discretionary assistance will be subject to available budget and that mandatory Disabled Facilities Grant duties remain the council's priority. It also resolved to give delegated authority to the Assistant Director People Services, in consultation with the portfolio holder for People Services, to make minor in-year operational or administrative amendments that do not materially change the policy's intent, eligibility criteria, financial limits or budgetary framework. Wards affected: all. Item 8
- Item 9, Cromer Pier operating lease and lease extension. Cabinet resolved to approve the grant of a lease to Openwide Coastal Limited and an extension of the lease to run with the Management Contract to 31 March 2033, and to delegate approval of the lease documentation to the Asset Strategy Manager or, in their absence, the Assistant Director Finance & Assets. The report states the council has had a Management Contract with Openwide Coastal Limited for Cromer Pier and the Pavilion Theatre since 2019, extended from March 2028 to March 2033. Ward: Cromer Town. Item 9
- Item 10, North Walsham Football Club lease, Greens Road Recreation Ground. Cabinet resolved to agree a 25-year lease as outlined in the exempt appendix and to delegate approval of the exact terms of the legal agreement to the Asset Strategy Manager. The report states that Cabinet had previously approved renewal of the lease to the Trustees of North Walsham Football Club for 21 years, and that the longer term is proposed to give security of tenure and the ability to apply for external funding. The terms are in an exempt appendix, which was not published. Ward: North Walsham. Item 10
Development Committee, Thursday 8 October 2026, 9.30 am. When read on 15 October 2026 the meeting page carried the agenda and reports pack only: no minutes or decision record had been published. The three planning items on the agenda were therefore checked against each application's own page on the planning portal. Development Committee agenda
- Item 10, Blakeney, PF/26/0839: demolition of dwelling and erection of replacement two-storey dwelling (self-build) at 54 Morston Road. The application page shows the decision Approve, issued on Monday 12 October 2026. The committee's own record of the item was not published when read.
- Item 8, Fakenham, PF/24/2184: erection of two buildings for use as a restaurant and farm shop, with a separate WC and bar, two polytunnels, car parking, paths and access at Salmonds Lane, Thorpland. The application page shows the status Pending Consideration and no decision. Carried forward to the next issue. Agenda item
- Item 9, North Walsham, RV/26/0627: demolition of retail unit and erection of dwellings in two blocks without complying with conditions 2, 10(b) and 12 of PF/17/1996, to allow changes to the appearance and layout of the rear building to form an additional dwelling (8 instead of 7 as originally approved), at 14 Hall Lane. The application page shows the status Awaiting decision and no decision. Carried forward to the next issue. Agenda item
- Items 11 and 12: the Development Management performance update (with a schedule of draft S106 obligations) and the appeals section (with an enforcement schedule) were on the agenda. Their documents were not opened. Agenda
After the window. The Overview and Scrutiny Committee met on Wednesday 14 October 2026. Its published agenda includes item 10, the draft Homelessness and Rough Sleeping Strategy 2026-2031, and item 11, a Complaints Report. Its papers were not read and outcomes will be reported in Issue 003. Meeting page A reserve meeting of the Development Committee is scheduled for Thursday 22 October 2026 (meeting page); its papers were not read.
What was not read. For the Cabinet and Development Committee meetings only the agenda and decisions pages were read. The reports packs (PDF files of about 8 MB and 7 MB) were not opened.
PLANNING WATCH
Window: applications validated and decisions issued in the week beginning Monday 5 October 2026, from the council's Idox Public Access weekly lists. Dates and outcomes below were read from each application's own detail page.
Counts: the weekly lists show 44 validated applications and 47 decisions. This issue reports 18 validated applications and 30 decisions individually. Not reported individually: 26 validated items (16 tree works and tree notices, 4 pre-application advice requests, 3 utility and telecoms notifications, 1 non-material amendment, 1 certificate of lawfulness for proposed works; one of the 26, a consultation about a new premises licence, is reported under On the High Street) and 17 decided items (10 tree works, 3 pre-application advice requests, 2 non-material amendments, 1 condition discharge, 1 certificate of lawfulness for proposed works with the outcome "Permission not required"). Agent and applicant details were not captured for this issue.
Validated
| Ref | Location | Proposal | Validated | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PU/26/2142 | Valley Farm Barns, Wood Dalling Road, Corpusty | Change of use of 2 agricultural buildings to 3 dwellinghouses (Class C3), including building operations reasonably necessary for the conversion | 9 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PU/26/2143 | Valley Farm Barns, Wood Dalling Road, Corpusty | Change of use of agricultural building to a dwellinghouse (Class C3), including building operations reasonably necessary for the conversion | 9 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PU/26/2134 | 43 High Street, Sheringham | Prior notification to determine whether prior approval is required for change of use of former bank to 4 residential flats, retaining part of the ground floor for retail, including a new entrance door and adjustments to the shop front | 8 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| CD/26/2121 | Land North West and South of Rose Centre Retail Park, Nursery Drive, Norwich Road, North Walsham | Discharge of condition 49 (fire hydrant scheme) of planning permission PF/22/1784 (hybrid scheme including 343 dwellings, 7 serviced self-build plots and an elderly care facility) | 8 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| CD/26/2128 | Garden House, Peacock Lane, Holt | Discharge of condition 6 (hard and soft landscaping) of RV/24/2248 (3 detached dwellings, varying PF/24/0246) | 8 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| CD/26/2100 | 2 Walsingham Road, East Barsham | Discharge of conditions 3 (external surface materials) and 6 (hard and soft landscape scheme) of PF/26/1242 (demolition of dwelling and erection of a self-build replacement 1.5-storey dwelling and garage) | 6 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| RV/26/2095 | Woodlands, 16 Church Street, Southrepps | Single storey extension, porch extension, detached cart lodge, garden shed, woodstore, PV panels, gate and fence (part-retrospective) without complying with condition 2 (approved plans) of PF/25/2817, to allow changes to the approved design and external materials | 6 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PM/26/2055 | Land North of Rudham Stile Lane and East of Water Moor Lane, Fakenham | Approval of reserved matters for Phase 2A works (highways, landscape, drainage attenuation and associated works, including temporary drainage works) under PO/17/0860, as varied by RV/22/0855 | 7 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| LA/26/2033 | Rocket House, High Street, Cley-next-the-Sea | Works associated with replacement windows and external doors | 7 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/2034 | Northwick Bungalow, 28 Northfield Road, North Walsham | Extension to and conversion of existing workshop/store to an ancillary self-contained annexe | 9 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/2010 | 2 Weavers Close, North Walsham | Demolition of conservatory and erection of single storey rear extension; conversion of integral garage to habitable space with associated external alterations | 6 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1993 | The Pigs, Norwich Road, Edgefield | New connection to the main foul sewer, including underground pipework; alteration to previously approved application PF/22/1719 | 5 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1986 | St Marys Church, Holt Road, Kelling | Single storey wooden pavilion as a kitchenette to serve light refreshments, including septic tank | 8 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1961 | Wood Street Farm, Wood Street, Catfield | Alterations to existing attached garage to provide 2 additional bedrooms, library and study to the main house, and creation of an ancillary annexe | 6 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1888 | Mill Pightle House, Hollow Lane, Stiffkey | Ground-mounted solar panels beside the west side of the garage and on the south side of the garage roof, with two roof windows to the north side of the garage | 5 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1857 | The Dutch Barn, Plumstead Road, Edgefield | Change of use of agricultural building to dwelling and associated works | 9 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1807 | New House, East End, Wells-next-the-Sea | Demolition of conservatory and erection of 2 storey rear extension, with new fenestration to the north elevation | 5 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1677 | Land adjacent to 13 Pine Walk, Weybourne | Subdivision of plot and erection of single storey dwelling | 8 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
Decided
| Ref | Location | Proposal | Decision | Decision date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CD/26/1987 | Wolterton Park, Wall Road, Wolterton | Discharge of the statutory biodiversity gain plan condition of PF/25/1827 (timber and thatch boathouse and yoga studio structure on the west side of Wolterton Lake) | Condition Discharge Reply | 7 October 2026 |
| NP/26/1948 | Upwood Farm, Green Lane, North Barningham | Prior notification of proposed erection of an open sided straw barn for agricultural use | Refusal of Prior Notification/Approval | 9 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1842 | 38 Northfield Road, Mundesley | Veranda to rear of dwelling (retrospective) | Approve | 7 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1841 | 1 Common Road, Threehammer Common, Neatishead | Single storey rear extension, single storey front extension and external alterations associated with conversion of integral garage to habitable space | Approve | 7 October 2026 |
| CL/26/1768 | Stonecote, Roughton Road, Felbrigg | Certificate of existing lawful use of a sewage treatment plant which replaced an existing installation | Was Lawful Use | 8 October 2026 |
| PU/26/1748 | Land and Poultry Sheds east of Ingham Road, Brumstead | Prior approval for change of use and conversion of 3 agricultural buildings to 6 dwellings, and change of use of agricultural land to residential gardens | Application Withdrawn | 9 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1756 | The Lodge, Field Dalling Road, Bale | Conversion of detached garage/workshop to annexe | Approve | 8 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1746 | 21 The Common, Hanworth | Removal of shed; erection of detached garage, garden room and detached shed | Approve | 8 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1730 | Atcherley House, 4 Atcherley Square, West Raynham | Garage extension | Approve | 6 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1684 | Existing Agricultural Barn, Fulmodeston Road, Hindolveston | Change of use of agricultural building to chocolate production and cookery school (no specified use class) with shop and associated storage; external alterations including re-cladding | Approve | 8 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1680 | Former Nat West Bank, 57-59 Church Street, Cromer | Additional window in existing shopfront and replacement window in existing opening; existing and proposed use class E | Approve | 9 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1675 | Cromer Country Club, 127 Overstrand Road, Cromer | Re-roofing of existing building | Approve | 6 October 2026 |
| RV/26/1683 | The Grange, Letheringsett Road, Thornage | Detached garden room without complying with conditions 2 (approved plans) and 3 (external materials) of PF/23/2610, to revise the design and external materials | Approve | 8 October 2026 |
| LA/26/1627 | Hall Farm, 13 High Street, Wighton | Conservation repairs to the impact-damaged south-west corner, including reinstatement of brickwork, flint lining, roof timbers and pantiles in matching traditional materials; retention of works already carried out | Approve | 6 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1622 | York Cottage, 151 High Street, Blakeney | Alterations and refurbishment of existing dwelling and site access | Approve | 7 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1593 | Well Cottage, 2 Cross Street, Holt | Second storey extension including roof raise, alterations and remodelling | Approve | 9 October 2026 |
| CD/26/1596 | Land West and North of 110 Mill Road, Wells-next-the-Sea | Discharge of condition 5 (energy plan) of PF/24/1572 | Condition Discharge Reply | 8 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1602 | The New Bungalow, The Yards, Mill Common Road, Ridlington | Change of use of part of an agricultural field to residential garden land for The New Bungalow | Approve | 8 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1518 | Seaward House, 7 North Street, Sheringham | Single storey rear extension, dormer and rooflight to rear roof slope | Approve | 6 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1483 | Lorcot, Cross Street, Salthouse | Detached garage and detached workshop | Approve | 6 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1468 | Highbury Farm, Colby Road, Banningham | Conversion of barns to 3 dwellings with alteration of integrated cart shed garages to habitable space (retrospective) | Approve | 6 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1425 | Orchard House, Westwood Lane, Great Ryburgh | Conversion of outbuilding to home office and gym | Approve | 6 October 2026 |
| RV/26/1416 | 20 Newhaven Close, Cromer | Single storey front, side and rear extension, replacement pitched roof over garage, new rooflights and replacement dormer, without complying with condition 2 (approved plans) of PF/25/0586, to allow minor amendments including changes to the size and number of rooflights and cladding to all elevations | Approve | 8 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1336 | Chestnut Barn, The Grove, Cromer Road, Holt | Detached garden studio | Approve | 8 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1284 | Fox Hill, Sheringwood, Beeston Regis | Siting of log cabin as a residential annexe for a temporary period of 2 years (retrospective) | Approve | 8 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1218 | 65 Church Street, Cromer | Change of use of Parish Hall to a retail unit and three flats | Refuse | 6 October 2026 |
| PF/26/0921 | Land North of Ambers Rest, Norwich Road, Corpusty | Detached two and a half storey dwelling | Refuse | 9 October 2026 |
| PF/26/0793 | Greenacres, Ramsgate Street, Edgefield | Side and first floor extension, interior alterations and replacement window to south elevation | Approve | 8 October 2026 |
| PF/25/1660 | Bridge Farm Workshop, Water Moor Lane, Fakenham | Erection of 3 dwellings and new vehicular access to Water Moor Lane | Approve | 6 October 2026 |
| PF/25/0909 | Sunflower Cottages, Stubb Road, Hickling | Conversion of detached garage to single dwelling (Class C3) with single storey extension | Approve | 8 October 2026 |
Major infrastructure
The four offshore wind projects were checked by reading each project's page on the Planning Inspectorate's national infrastructure site on 15 October 2026. None shows an update dated 5 to 11 October 2026.
| Project | Latest update shown | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Hornsea Project Three (EN010080) | 10 May 2024 | Project page |
| Norfolk Vanguard (EN010079) | 15 September 2026 | Project page |
| Norfolk Boreas (EN010087) | 22 September 2026 | Project page |
| Sheringham and Dudgeon Extension (EN010109) | 7 February 2025 | Project page |
YOUR MONEY
No budget, monitoring report, accounts or council tax item was published or considered in the window, and the council's news page carried no money item dated 5 to 11 October 2026. The Cabinet lease decisions are reported under In the Chamber. The Contracts Register landing page is live; the register is a downloadable spreadsheet whose rows were not read for this issue, so no contract changes are reported.
JOBS & TENDERS
The council's careers page lists six vacancies. The page shows closing dates but no posting dates. Compared with the five vacancies listed in Issue 001, one vacancy, GIS Administrator, is not in that list; the other five are unchanged.
| Vacancy | Department | Salary | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Housing Pathways Team Leader | People Services | £41,177 to £45,529 | 18 October 2026 |
| Economic Growth Manager | Sustainable Growth | £53,051 to £58,671 | 1 November 2026 |
| Local Government Lawyer, Commercial Property | Legal | £41,177 to £50,908 | 25 October 2026 |
| Senior Planning Officer | Planning | £41,177 to £45,529 | 18 October 2026 |
| GIS Administrator | IT | £35,570 to £39,481 | 9 November 2026 |
| Temporary Register | not stated | not stated | open |
Tenders. The council's tenders page states: "There are currently no tender opportunities." PROC158 (Strategic Environmental Assessment services to support the Local Plan), listed as open in Issue 001, is no longer on the page, and the page does not say why. Contracts and tenders
THE COUNTDOWN
A search of gov.uk, norfolk.gov.uk, suffolk.gov.uk and north-norfolk.gov.uk returned no item dated 5 to 11 October 2026 on the Norfolk and Suffolk mayoralty. On 15 October 2026 the Norfolk County Council devolution updates page was opened and states that the county council's cabinet voted in favour of devolution on 16 October 2025, and the GOV.UK Norfolk and Suffolk devolution page shows a last-updated date of 17 July 2025. This was a search of official sites and is not exhaustive.
HAVE YOUR SAY
Three council consultations are open. All three close by 22 October 2026.
| Consultation | Closes | Source |
|---|---|---|
| North Lodge Park, Cromer: proposal to appropriate land for a small pay and display car park | 5pm, Thursday 15 October 2026 | Council news item |
| Tunstead with Sco Ruston Neighbourhood Plan | Monday 19 October 2026 | Consultations page |
| Homelessness and Rough Sleeping Strategy 2026-2031 (consultation runs 24 September to 22 October 2026) | Thursday 22 October 2026 | Council news item, 9 October 2026 |
The council's news page also carried the Homelessness and Rough Sleeping Strategy item on 9 October 2026. No consultation was added to the consultations list in the window.
ON THE HIGH STREET
The licensing registers were not covered this week. The temporary event notices, street collections, house-to-house collections, personal licences, taxi and private hire, gambling and skin piercing registers are published as PDF files. The temporary event notices register was tested again on 15 October 2026: opened in the built-in browser, its text came back empty, and an inspection of the file found 47 page objects, 4 font resources, 1 image object, no link annotations, a size of 166,229 bytes and the producer name "Powered By Crystal"; a second attempt to read the file's contents failed with a network error. The other six registers were not re-tested this week; the last test, on 7 October 2026, returned an empty text layer for each. This section therefore reports no new notices, collections or licences, and that is not a finding that there were none.
| Register | Result |
|---|---|
| Temporary Event Notices (TENs) register | Register is a 46-page PDF; its text could not be read in the built-in browser (text layer returned empty, tested 15 October 2026). |
| Street collections and house-to-house collections registers | Register PDFs located; their text could not be read in the built-in browser (text layer returned empty on 7 October 2026; not re-tested). |
| Personal licences register | Register is a PDF; text could not be read (empty on 7 October 2026; not re-tested). No list from a previous week exists to compare against. |
| Taxi and private hire register | Register is a PDF; text could not be read (empty on 7 October 2026; not re-tested). No list from a previous week exists to compare against. |
| Gambling premises, clubs and small society lotteries registers | Registers are PDFs; text could not be read (empty on 7 October 2026; not re-tested). No list from a previous week exists to compare against. |
| Skin piercing register | Register is a PDF; text could not be read (empty on 7 October 2026; not re-tested). No list from a previous week exists to compare against. |
| Caravan and campsite sites licensing register | The landing page shows a last-updated date of 5 June 2026, the same date as at the 7 October 2026 check. The register file itself was not re-read. |
Premises licence consultation. The council's Licensing team logged a consultation about a new premises licence at 16 Garden Street, Cromer, on the planning portal, received on 2 October 2026 and validated on 5 October 2026. The portal shows the status Pending Consideration; the record gives no further detail. IB/26/2102
HOW IT WORKS
The North Norfolk Briefing is a weekly summary of the public business of North Norfolk District Council. Each issue covers one Monday to Sunday week and draws on the council's planning register, committee papers and decisions, news page, consultations, contracts and tenders page, careers page and licensing pages, together with the Planning Inspectorate's pages for offshore wind projects. Every item links to its primary source. Where a source could not be read, the issue says so and gives the test that was run. Parish and town council business is not currently covered. The briefing reports what the public record says and does not offer opinion.
The North Norfolk Briefing is published by Verified Brief. All information is drawn from publicly available sources including council minutes, planning records, procurement registers, and official government publications. Links go directly to primary source documents. Nothing in this newsletter constitutes opinion, legal advice, or political commentary.