Issue 4, 7th - 13th October, 2026

Welcome to issue 4 of The West Norfolk Briefing. Each week it reports on the public business of Breckland Council and the Borough Council of King's Lynn & West Norfolk, together with the nine South Norfolk parishes due to transfer into the area, drawn from primary council records.

At a glance

  • King's Lynn & West Norfolk's Cabinet meets at 6.00 pm on 13 October 2026. Its agenda includes the National Planning Scheme of Delegation, which the Regeneration and Development Panel's published minutes record as due to be implemented by 31 October 2026.
  • Breckland's Planning Committee also meets on 13 October 2026, with four applications on its agenda, including five detached bungalows at Carbrooke and a traveller site at Saham Toney, both previously deferred. Outcomes had not been published when this issue was compiled.
  • Breckland's weekly determined list for the week commencing 5 October 2026 shows 31 decisions not reported in Issue 3, among them the grant of a 3 storey office block and research facility at Trox Brothers, Caxton Way, Thetford.
  • Breckland recorded two officer contract decisions: a three-year Locata contract (OD33/26, 12 October) and a one-year Innovis Solutions Ltd contract awarded due to urgency (OD32/26, 9 October).
  • King's Lynn & West Norfolk published the Corporate Performance Panel and Regeneration and Development Panel minutes on 12 October, and agenda papers for its Shareholder Committee on 15 October.
  • Breckland's Mattishall Community Governance Review consultation closes on 13 October 2026, and a new Overnight Visitor Levy Survey for accommodation providers is open.

In the Chamber

Borough Council of King's Lynn & West Norfolk

The agenda for Cabinet at 6.00 pm on 13 October 2026 lists forward decisions, matters referred from other bodies, the Shareholder Committee terms of reference and the National Planning Scheme of Delegation, together with two exempt reports (Sommerfeld & Thomas Warehouse, and the ICT Transformation Programme), the contents of which are not public and are not reported here. An agenda supplement, Matters Referred to Cabinet from Scrutiny Panels, was published on 12 October. Outcomes had not been published when this issue was compiled.

Minutes of the Corporate Performance Panel meeting of 6 October 2026 were published on 12 October. The Panel noted its work programme, the Cabinet forward decisions and the Shareholder Committee work programme, and no call-ins were recorded. On the exempt Cabinet report on the ICT contract, the minutes record that the Panel supported the recommendations to Cabinet; the report's contents are not reported. The next meeting is on 10 November 2026.

Minutes of the Regeneration and Development Panel meeting of 30 September 2026 were published on 12 October. They record the Panel's consideration of the National Planning Scheme of Delegation (item RD31; see Planning Watch) and, on the exempt item on Sommerfeld & Thomas Warehouse, that the Panel supported the recommendations to Cabinet. The next meeting is on 25 November 2026.

The agenda for the Shareholder Committee on 15 October 2026 at 3.00 pm was published on 7 October. It lists the annual update on the Committee's activity, an update on West Norfolk Housing Company board membership, the forward plan, and two exempt business-plan updates for 2026/27. Agenda supplements titled West Norfolk Property Limited Business Plan and West Norfolk Housing Company Business Plan were published on 9 October; their contents were not read. The next meeting is on 10 December 2026.

An agenda supplement, Councillor Community Grant Bids October 2026, was published on 12 October for the Community Project Fund and Budget Setting Task Group meeting at 9.30 am on 16 October 2026. The agenda, published on 8 October, lists appendices covering evaluation scores, rejected bids, bid summaries and applicant guidance, which were not read.

The Member Major Projects Board met on 9 October 2026; minutes had not been published. The next meeting is on 4 November 2026.

The Officer Delegated Decisions meeting on 7 October 2026 had on its agenda Replacement Executive Appointments on Outside Bodies. The decision record itself was not read.

Draft minutes of the King's Lynn Area Committee meeting of 17 September 2026 were published on 7 October. They record a presentation on play areas, with £120,000 in the 2027 capital programme for inclusive play, and a £24,000 underspend on Special Expenses for 2025–26. Bids under the Parish Partnership Scheme 2027–28 are due to the Assistant Director by 26 October 2026; the Committee meets on 12 November 2026 at 5:15 pm, and the scheme is due to be submitted to Norfolk County Council by 1 December 2026. What's new — King's Lynn & West Norfolk

Breckland Council

The agenda for Council at 10.00 am on 15 October 2026 was published on 7 October. It lists the minutes of 3 September, the Swanton Morley Neighbourhood Plan 2016–2036 Review (making), the National Scheme of Delegation for Planning (see Planning Watch), the Safer Communities Programme, the Proud Communities Programme, nominations, and minutes for information.

The General Purposes Committee met on 8 October 2026. Its agenda listed the Dereham Public Spaces Protection Order, the Community Governance Review and the minutes of 22 July. Minutes had not been published. The next meeting is on 26 November 2026.

The Licensing Hearing Panel met on 9 October 2026. Item 5 is exempt and concerns the suspension or revocation of a Hackney Carriage / Private Hire driver licence; its contents are not public and no outcome has been published.

Two officer decisions were published:

  • OD33/26, dated 12 October 2026: the Executive Director decided to enter into a three-year contract with Locata for the Lettings, Homelessness Prevention and Advice systems under the G-Cloud 14 Framework Agreement. The decision is not a key decision and is not subject to call-in.
  • OD32/26, dated 9 October 2026: the Head of ARP awarded a one-year contract to Innovis Solutions Ltd, due to urgency, for the Enforcer Online software, following the liquidation of the previous contract holder. A full procurement exercise is planned for 2027. The decision is not a key decision and is not subject to call-in.

Four delegated decisions carried from the previous issue:

  • D58/26, Food Waste Caddy internal sales, decided by the Executive Member for Waste, Environmental Health, Licensing & Sustainability: now shown as effective from 8 October 2026.
  • D59/26, decided by the Deputy Leader and Executive Member for Housing & Planning: to receive £28,181.82 from Norfolk County Council for Ukrainian refugee support in 2026-27. On 13 October 2026 it still showed "Recommendations Approved (subject to call-in)"; the call-in deadline was 12 October, and the decision comes into force on 13 October if not called in.
  • D60/26, decided by the same Executive Member: to receive £125,000 a year for three years from 2026-27 for entrenched rough sleepers. Status and dates as for D59/26.
  • D61/26, decided by the same Executive Member: to receive £32,390.70 from Norfolk County Council for the Sanctuary Scheme in 2026-27. Status and dates as for D59/26.

Cabinet met on 28 September 2026. Minutes and decisions had still not been published when this issue was compiled. The next Cabinet meeting is scheduled for 9 November 2026. What's new — Breckland

County governance

Norfolk County Council's committees page lists its committees but gives no meeting dates or current business, so no county committee business is reported. Where a county matter surfaces through a district council's own records, it is reported under that district.

Planning Watch

Planning Watch reports the applications considered by each council's Planning Committee and, for Breckland, the applications decided by officers under delegated powers and those registered, taken from its weekly lists. See How It Works.

Coverage in this issue. For Breckland, this section reports from the council's weekly list of applications decided for the week commencing 5 October. Of the 31 decisions reported below, 7 carry a decision date read from the application's record page; for the other 24 only the list entry was read, so they are labelled by week. Breckland's weekly list of applications decided for the week commencing 12 October, its weekly lists of applications received, and the status of applications reported as registered in earlier issues were not read for this issue, so Breckland applications registered since 5 October are not reported here. The four records not reported in Issue 3 were not re-checked. For King's Lynn & West Norfolk, only the applications on the Planning Committee agenda are reported: its officer-delegated decisions and weekly list of applications were not read, so this section is not a complete record of planning activity in that borough. Each council's own searchable record covers every application: King's Lynn & West Norfolk · Breckland. See How It Works for what Planning Watch covers.

Borough Council of King's Lynn & West Norfolk

Planning Committee met on 5 October 2026. Minutes and outcomes had not been published when this issue was compiled, so the two applications below remain recorded here as officer recommendations only.

25/01801/FM — Wimbotsham, Land S of 22 Bridle Lane Downham Market Norfolk. Proposal: full planning approval for the erection of 114 dwellings with associated open space and infrastructure with vehicular access proposed from Lynn Road and an emergency vehicular access to Cinnamon Road. Officer recommendation: approve. Outcome: not yet published. First reported in Issue 2. Meeting page

26/01142/F — Downham Market, Melanna 25 Ryston End Downham Market Norfolk. Proposal: householder: part retrospective: conversion of first floor area of existing garage to annex and single storey rear extension to dwelling, new boundary treatment and retention of patio area. Officer recommendation: approve. Outcome: not yet published. First reported in Issue 2. Meeting page

The minutes of the 7 September 2026 meeting still show as draft on the council's meetings list, and the schedule of Delegated Decisions to be received at the 5 October meeting was not read (see How It Works). The next meetings are scheduled for 26 October and 7 December 2026.

National Planning Scheme of Delegation. The item is on the Cabinet agenda for 13 October 2026 (item 11). The Regeneration and Development Panel minutes record that the scheme must be implemented by 31 October 2026. Applications in Schedule 1 are determined by officers. Applications in Schedule 2 are delegated unless statutory gateway tests are met, and a ward member can request gateway consideration by pro forma within 21 days of the weekly list publication (30 days for environmental impact assessment development). Delegated reports remain public. Panel members expressed concern about the loss of ward members' automatic call-in right, and officers said representations remain material considerations.

Breckland Council

Breckland's Planning Committee did not meet in this issue's coverage window. It meets at 10.00 am on 13 October 2026. The agenda lists the minutes of 1 September, a Local Plan update, a summary report on the National Planning Policy Framework 2026, a schedule of deferred applications, a report of applications determined by the Director and an appeals summary, together with four applications. Officer recommendations are in PDF reports that were not read for this briefing. Outcomes had not been published when this issue was compiled. The following meetings are scheduled for 27 October and 24 November 2026.

Applications on the agenda for 13 October 2026

  • PL/2025/0756/FMIN — Saham Toney, Otterwood Kennels, Dereham Road, Saham Toney. Proposal: traveller site. Agenda item 9a. Deferred on 19 May 2026 for boundary treatment, landscaping and highway access/visibility information. Meeting page
  • PL/2026/0424/MIN — Carbrooke, Land to North of Shipdham Road, Carbrooke. Proposal: five detached bungalows. Agenda item 9b. Deferred on 14 July 2026 after late representations were received. Meeting page
  • PL/2026/1116/OMIN — North Elmham, Land to the East of Pump Street, North Elmham. Proposal: five custom and self-build dwellings. Agenda item 10a. Meeting page
  • 3PL/2022/1076/F — Thetford, Land to the Rear of 57 Bury Road, Thetford. Proposal: demolition of an outbuilding, alterations and two dwellings. Agenda item 10b. Meeting page

The agenda page now lists the Saham Toney application as item 9a and the Carbrooke application as 9b. Issue 3 gave them in the reverse order. Carbrooke's application is printed on the agenda as PL/2026/ 0424/MIN, with a space.

The Breckland Council agenda for 15 October 2026 includes the National Scheme of Delegation for Planning (item 10); the report's contents were not read.

Breckland Council: decided by officers under delegated powers, 7–9 October 2026

5 applications on Breckland's weekly determined list for the week commencing 5 October carry a decision date between 7 and 9 October 2026 on their record pages. Each was decided under delegated powers. Proposals are shortened from the council's record; the full text is on each application's record page.

Planning permission

Address — application Description
Home Farm Cottage, Green Lane, Rockland All Saints — PL/2026/1234/HOU demolition of existing conservatory and erection of single storey extension to rear and internal alterations — Granted with conditions, 7 October

Discharge of conditions

Address — application Description
Cranswick Country Foods, Brandon Road, Watton — PL/2026/1230/DCA discharge of conditions 7, 8 and 9 on PL/2025/1910/FMIN — Discharge of condition, 7 October

Tree works

Address — application Description
5 Lake View, Holt Road, North Elmham — PL/2026/1238/TCA tree to fell — No objection (tree work, conservation area), 9 October
Breckland Court, Pike Lane, Thetford — PL/2026/1237/TCA T1, T2 and T3 ash: crown lift all three trees by approximately 3 metres — No objection (tree work, conservation area), 8 October
Bridgeford, 23 Fakenham Road, Beetley — PL/2026/1232/TRE TPO 1999/No5 oak (T1): reduce crown radius by 2m — Approved (tree work, protected trees), 9 October

Breckland Council: decided on 6 October 2026

These 2 applications were decided on 6 October 2026, the last day of Issue 3's coverage window, and were not on the list when Issue 3 was compiled.

Planning permission

Address — application Description
Brooklyn, 101 Bittering Street, Gressenhall — PL/2026/1200/HOU side and rear single-storey extensions and external refurbishments — Granted with conditions, 6 October

Variation of conditions

Address — application Description
12 Tom Turley Close, Watton — PL/2026/1233/VAR variation of condition 3 on PL/2026/0225/FMIN to remove the upper age limit of 18 years for residents, retaining the lower age limit of 7 years, for the small residential home (Use Class C2)... — Withdrawn, 6 October

Breckland Council: decided in the week commencing 5 October 2026, date not read

These 24 applications appear on the weekly determined list for the week commencing 5 October and were not reported in Issue 3. Only the list entry was read for each, so the date of each decision is not stated. Proposals are shortened from the council's record.

Planning permission

Address — application Description
White Cottage, Church Road, Colkirk — PL/2026/1174/HOU proposed side extension to provide an attached garage — Granted with conditions, week commencing 5 October
2 Stevens Close, Watton — PL/2026/1146/HOU replacement of roof and frames to the existing conservatory — Granted with conditions, week commencing 5 October
The Old Thatched Shop, 32 Church Street, Great Ellingham — PL/2026/1105/HOU raise the existing wood-burning stove chimney to minimum of 1.8 metres above the thatched roof, and associated works (retrospective) — Granted with conditions, week commencing 5 October
Trox Brothers Ltd, Caxton Way, Thetford — PL/2026/0743/FMAJ demolition of existing office building part of factory and erection of new 3 storey office block and first floor research facility with parking below, PV array and plant equipment on the roof and external alterations... — Granted with conditions, week commencing 5 October
West End Farm, West End, Bradenham — PL/2026/0617/FMIN proposed replacement self build dwelling, to include new access and driveway — Granted with conditions, week commencing 5 October
Hall Farm, Church Lane, Gressenhall — PL/2026/0025/FMIN retention of an existing tarmac bell mouth, which replaced an existing field entrance off Church Lane — Granted with conditions, week commencing 5 October
Bell Mouth off Church Lane, Gressenhall — PL/2026/0024/FMIN retention of existing bell mouth, which replaced an existing field entrance off Church Lane — Granted with conditions, week commencing 5 October
Land off Beetley Road, Northall Green, Dereham — PL/2025/1894/FMIN retention of existing tarmac bell mouth, which replaced an existing field entrance off Beetley Road — Granted with conditions, week commencing 5 October
Bell Mouth off Mill Lane, Old Brigg, Dereham — PL/2025/1858/FMIN retention of existing tarmac bell mouth, which replaced an existing field entrance off Beetley Road — Granted with conditions, week commencing 5 October
Bell Mouth off Holt Road, Dereham — PL/2025/1855/FMIN retention of existing tarmac bell mouth, which replaced an existing field entrance off Beetley Road — Granted with conditions, week commencing 5 October
Owl Barn, Frog's Hall Lane, Woodgate, Swanton Morley — PL/2025/0166/FMIN conversion, rebuild and extension to existing barns and farm yard to create a new two-bed dwelling — Granted with conditions, week commencing 5 October
10 The Gallops, Watton — 3PL/2024/0685/HOU construction of detached underground basement extension to rear garden — Withdrawn, week commencing 5 October
Address — application Description
The Old Thatched Shop, 32 Church Street, Great Ellingham — PL/2026/1106/LB raise the existing wood-burning stove chimney to minimum of 1.8 metres above the thatched roof, and associated works (retrospective) — Granted with conditions, week commencing 5 October
Address — application Description
4 Church Street, Attleborough — PL/2026/1088/ADV retrospective application for 4 external signs: sign 1 externally illuminated with trough light aluminium pan sign; sign 2 non-illuminated ACM sign; sign 3 externally illuminated... — Granted with conditions, week commencing 5 October

Prior approval

Address — application Description
The Old Nags Head, 5 Church Road, Holme Hale — PL/2025/1941/PAAF application to determine if prior approval is required for a proposed erection, extension or alteration of a building for agricultural or forestry use... — Prior approval required and refused, week commencing 5 October
Barrow Hill WR Fire Road 10, Thetford — PL/2025/0813/PAEC application to determine if prior approval is required for a proposed development by an electronic communications code operator for the purpose of its network... — Prior approval not required, week commencing 5 October

Discharge of conditions

Address — application Description
25A Station Road, North Elmham — PL/2026/1152/DCA discharge of conditions 3, 6, 7, 9 and 12 on PL/2025/1067/FMIN — Discharge of Condition, week commencing 5 October

Tree works: listed only

These are notices of works to trees. The decision text is taken from the weekly determined list; this briefing did not read the record page, so no decision date is stated. The link on each reference goes to that list.

Address — application Description
Old School House, Westgate Street, Hilborough — PL/2026/1185/TCA 2 hybrid poplar trees: sectional fell clear and cut to near ground level — No objection (tree work, conservation area), week commencing 5 October
The Rectory, The Street, Reymerston — PL/2026/1177/TCA oak: fell to a monolith; hedge of mixed species: reset to 2.5m — No objection (tree work, conservation area), week commencing 5 October
Grey Gables, Pump Street, North Elmham — PL/2026/1172/TCA T1 sycamore: fell; T2 sycamore: reduce canopy height by 3m and width by 2m; T3 beech... — No objection (tree work, conservation area), week commencing 5 October
Land near South Green Gardens and Russet Way, Dereham — PL/2026/1164/TRE T1 oak: raise canopy 2m, remove deadwood; T2 beech: raise canopy 2m; T3 sycamore: raise canopy 2m; T4 sycamore... — Approved (tree work, protected trees), week commencing 5 October
62a Memorial Hall, Norwich Street, Dereham — PL/2026/1163/TRE oak 951: reduce canopy back to live wood by approx 3-4m; oak 646: raise canopy 3m; oak 914: raise canopy 3m and formative pruning; 2875... — Approved (tree work, protected trees), week commencing 5 October
Recreation Ground, Commercial Road, Dereham — PL/2026/1154/TRE T9 sweet chestnut: remove dead wood, remove vegetation and inspect base — Approved (tree work, protected trees), week commencing 5 October
Dereham Hospital, Northgate, Dereham — PL/2026/1120/TRE T546 silver birch: fell; T0547 Atlas cedar: remove hanging branches...; T560 sweet chestnut: remove and replace T522 silver fir... — Approved (tree work, protected trees), week commencing 5 October

Applications from the previous issues. None of the applications listed as registered in Issues 2 and 3 appears on the weekly determined list read for this issue. Their status was not otherwise checked.

Your Money

The Borough Council of King's Lynn & West Norfolk's payments page now lists Payments to suppliers for July to September 2026 (XLSX, 135.04 KB). The file's contents were not read for this briefing.

Breckland's Council Expenditure page lists monthly files of expenditure over £500 and procurement-card files for April to August 2026. The files' contents were not read for this briefing.

Have Your Say

Breckland Council

Parish of Mattishall Community Governance Review — Breckland Council is conducting the review following a request from Mattishall Parish Council to increase the number of councillors on the parish council from nine to eleven. The first consultation, on the terms of reference, closes on 13 October 2026. Draft recommendations are due to be published between 14 and 21 October 2026, a second consultation is due to run from 22 October to 5 November 2026, and the council is due to agree and publish final recommendations by 20 November 2026. Have your say

Overnight Visitor Levy Survey — The council's page states that the Government is proposing to give a future Norfolk and Suffolk Mayor the power to introduce an overnight visitor levy, and the survey seeks the views of accommodation providers. The page gives no closing date. Take the survey

The Borough Council of King's Lynn & West Norfolk's consultations page stated that there are no consultations open at this time.

On the High Street

This section covers Breckland only. Breckland Council publishes a public register of licences; the Borough Council of King's Lynn & West Norfolk does not publish a register this briefing is able to read (see How It Works).

Licence types queried this issue: Hackney Carriage Vehicle, Street Trading Consent (1 Year). Breckland's register does not yet include alcohol or premises licences, by the council's own statement, while it is repopulated following a change of software provider.

Hackney Carriage Vehicle — 120 licensed vehicles on the register; the previous issue reported 119. One was newly shown: HV0922 (Hyundai Ioniq Premium HEV S-A, start date 6 October 2026, expiring 5 October 2027). One vehicle shows an expiry within the coming week: HV0887 (Skoda Octavia) on 13 October 2026; no vehicle expires from 14 to 20 October. HV0698 (Kia Optima), which Issue 3 reported as expiring on 11 October 2026, now shows an expiry date of 11 October 2027.

Street Trading Consent (1 Year) — 40 consents on the register; the previous issue reported 39. STC0224 (The Watton Hot Baguette, mobile) has the highest reference number, with an expiry date of 12 August 2027; the register prints no issue date. No consent on the register shows an expiry date within the coming week. Register

How It Works

The Briefing is organised by what it reports on, not by council. In the Chamber covers committee business — meetings, agendas, minutes, decisions — across Breckland Council and the Borough Council of King's Lynn & West Norfolk. Planning Watch covers planning. Your Money and Jobs & Tenders cover spending, contracts and procurement opportunities. The Countdown tracks local government reorganisation as it happens. Have Your Say lists what's currently open for public comment. On the High Street covers licensing.

Every item meeting a stated inclusion test is reported — this briefing favours comprehensiveness over curation. Readers self-select what matters to them.

What Planning Watch covers. Both councils' Planning Committees meet every four weeks, and this section reports the applications they consider: the reference, the parish and site, the proposal as written, the officer's recommendation, and the decision and vote where one was taken. Applications deferred, called in by a councillor, or referred because a parish council disagreed with officers are the ones that reach committee, so they are the ones reported here. Most applications never reach a committee at all — King's Lynn & West Norfolk puts the figure at fewer than one in ten — because officers decide them under delegated powers. Officer decisions are published by both councils. Breckland's weekly lists of applications decided and received are reported in this section from Issue 2; King's Lynn & West Norfolk's are not yet covered, and we are working on adding them. In a week with no committee meeting, the section reports Breckland's weekly lists and gives the next meeting date.

If you're looking for an application you can't find here. Both councils publish their own searchable record of every application, including those decided by officers, and anyone can search it directly: King's Lynn & West Norfolk · Breckland.

What On the High Street covers. Breckland Council publishes a public register of licences — taxi and private hire, scrap metal, animal welfare, street trading and several gambling categories — and this section reports from it. The council notes that its register is still being added to following a change of software, and that alcohol and premises licences are not yet included. The Borough Council of King's Lynn & West Norfolk does not publish a register this briefing is able to read, so its licensing is not covered.

A section that doesn't appear in a given issue means either that there was nothing to report against its own inclusion test, or that the source it draws on reports on a longer cycle than weekly. Where a section is limited in what it can cover, that limit is stated above rather than left for you to infer.

The county tier — Norfolk County Council — currently has no live monitoring route: council-run pages show what committees exist but not their current business. Where a county matter is reported, it is because a district council's own records referenced it directly.

Nine parishes currently in South Norfolk are due to transfer into this footprint's successor council and are covered from Issue 1, labelled as incoming, using their present council's own records until the transfer takes effect.

This briefing states what the record says and stops there — no prediction, no opinion, no campaigning language. Named politicians and candidates appear only once a statement or position has been checked against the primary record.

About The West Norfolk Briefing

This briefing is a free, independent weekly service provided by Verified Brief. All information is taken from publicly available sources and primary council documents covering Breckland Council and the Borough Council of King's Lynn & West Norfolk.

Your data: We collect only your email address to send you this briefing. Your data is never sold, shared, or used beyond sending the newsletter. Unsubscribe at any time.

Got something wrong? Email [email protected].

Subscribe to Verified Brief

Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
[email protected]
Subscribe