Launch Issue, 28th September - 4th October, 2026
Welcome to the launch issue of The North Norfolk Briefing. Each week we summarise the public business of North Norfolk District Council. Every item links to the council's own published record.
AT A GLANCE
Planning Watch lists all 22 validated applications and 24 decisions reported this week; the lines below flag the two refusals. The licensing registers were not covered this week (see On the High Street).
- ⚠️ In the Chamber: Development Committee meets on Thursday 8 October 2026 at 9.30 am; the agenda is published and outcomes will be reported in Issue 002. Agenda
- ⚠️ Have Your Say: North Lodge Park, Cromer, land appropriation consultation closes at 5pm on Thursday 15 October 2026. Council news item
- ⚠️ In the Chamber: Overview and Scrutiny Committee is scheduled for Wednesday 14 October 2026. Meeting page
- ⚠️ Have Your Say: Tunstead with Sco Ruston Neighbourhood Plan consultation closes on Monday 19 October 2026. Consultations page
- ⚠️ Have Your Say: Homelessness and Rough Sleeping Strategy 2026-2031 consultation closes on Thursday 22 October 2026. Consultations page
- ⚠️ In the Chamber: a reserve Development Committee meeting is scheduled for Thursday 22 October 2026. Meeting page
- In the Chamber: Cabinet met on Monday 5 October 2026, after this issue's window; outcomes will be reported in Issue 002. Agenda
- Planning Watch: PF/26/1490 refused on 29 September 2026: phone box removal and global street hub unit, land adjacent to 11 Station Road, Sheringham.
- Planning Watch: ADV/26/1491 refused on 30 September 2026: global street hub unit with illuminated advertisement screens, land adjacent to 11 Station Road, Sheringham.
- Your Money: the council reported on 29 September 2026 that it acquired and refurbished a four-bedroom property as temporary accommodation using Local Authority Housing Fund grant. Council news item
- Jobs & Tenders: Housing Pathways Team Leader, People Services, closes 18 October 2026. Vacancies
- Jobs & Tenders: Economic Growth Manager, Sustainable Growth, closes 1 November 2026. Vacancies
- Jobs & Tenders: Local Government Lawyer, Commercial Property, Legal, closes 25 October 2026. Vacancies
- Jobs & Tenders: Senior Planning Officer, Planning, closes 18 October 2026. Vacancies
- Jobs & Tenders: Temporary Register is open. Vacancies
- Jobs & Tenders: open tender PROC158, Strategic Environmental Assessment services for the Local Plan. Tenders page
- The Countdown: no Norfolk and Suffolk devolution item dated 28 September to 4 October 2026 was found; the search was of official sites and is not exhaustive.
IN THE CHAMBER
Meetings held in the window. None. The council's meeting calendar for September and October 2026 shows no committee meeting held between Monday 28 September and Sunday 4 October 2026. Calendar and papers
Cabinet, Monday 5 October 2026. Cabinet met the day after this issue's window closed. Its agenda included: item 8, Discretionary Disabled Facilities Grant Policy 2026-2028; item 9, Cromer Pier operating lease and lease extension; and item 10, North Walsham Football Club lease, Greens Road Recreation Ground. Outcomes will be reported in Issue 002. Cabinet agenda and papers
Development Committee, Thursday 8 October 2026, 9.30 am. The agenda was published before the meeting, and outcomes will be reported in Issue 002. Items on the public agenda:
- Item 8, Fakenham, PF/24/2184: erection of two buildings for use as a restaurant and farm shop, with a separate WC and bar, two polytunnels, car parking, paths and access at Salmonds Lane, Thorpland. Five appendices are attached, including a Sharrington appeal decision.
- Item 9, North Walsham, RV/26/0627: demolition of retail unit and erection of dwellings in two blocks without complying with conditions 2, 10(b) and 12 of planning permission PF/17/1996, to allow changes to the appearance and layout of the rear building to form an additional dwelling (8 instead of 7 as originally approved), at 14 Hall Lane.
- Item 10, Blakeney, PF/26/0839: demolition of dwelling and erection of replacement two-storey dwelling (self-build) at 54 Morston Road.
- Item 11: Development Management performance update, with a schedule of draft S106 obligations.
- Item 12: appeals section, with an enforcement schedule.
Later in October. Overview and Scrutiny Committee is scheduled for Wednesday 14 October 2026 (meeting page), and a reserve meeting of the Development Committee for Thursday 22 October 2026 (meeting page). Their papers were not read for this issue.
What was not read. For the Cabinet and Development Committee meetings, only the published agenda pages were read. The agenda report packs (PDF files of about 8 MB and 7 MB) were not opened.
PLANNING WATCH
Window: applications validated and decisions issued in the week beginning Monday 28 September 2026, from the council's Idox Public Access weekly lists. Dates and outcomes below were read from each application's own detail page.
Counts: the weekly lists show 34 validated applications and 48 decisions. This issue reports 22 validated applications and 24 decisions individually. Not reported individually: 12 validated items (6 tree works and tree notices, 4 non-material amendments, 2 condition discharges) and 24 decided items (15 tree works and tree notices, 2 non-material amendments, 4 condition discharges, and 3 certificates of lawfulness for proposed works with the outcome "Permission not required"). Agent and applicant details were not captured for this issue.
Validated
| Ref | Location | Proposal | Validated | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PF/26/2065 | The Cottage, St Giles Road, Swanton Novers | First floor extension to dwelling | 30 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| CD/26/2059 | Forest Park, Northrepps Road, Northrepps | Discharge of conditions 4 (proposed hedgerow planting) and 6 (footpath management plan) of the planning permission for new footpath sections and a surfacing upgrade (part retrospective) | 30 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/2064 | Falgate Farm, Fakenham Road, Sculthorpe | Demolition of existing outbuilding and erection of two storey side and rear extension, single storey rear extensions and associated works | 30 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| EF/26/2061 | The Old Chapel, Riverside Road, Letheringsett | Installation of a 780mm x 980mm top hung frosted conservation window (escape window) on south west roof elevation and a 550mm x 980mm frosted centre pivot conservation window | 30 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| NMA/26/2027 | Land South of Norwich Road, North Walsham | Non-material amendment of the 343-dwelling hybrid scheme to update the tenure plan: plots 112-114 and 123-124 from shared ownership to rent; plots 130-132 and 135-136 from rent to shared ownership | 28 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| SV/26/2029 | Browns Covert, Hindolveston Road, Fulmodeston | To amend planning obligations in relation to the approved Woodland Management Plan and definition of the Planning Application and revision to the Site Location Plan (Plan 1) to assist the deliverability of the proposal | 29 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/2026 | Woodview, 23 Rowan Way, Holt | Removal of conservatory and erection of single storey rear extension | 2 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| NP2/26/2035 | Land west of Edgefield Hill, north of the Glaven, Holt Road, Edgefield | Prior notification of proposed erection of a building for agricultural use - machinery storage building (Stage 2 - further information following the earlier prior notification) | 30 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/2016 | North Walsham Rugby Football Club, North Walsham Road, Scottow | Installation of a new LED floodlighting system | 2 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| RV/26/1998 | 2 East Grove, Cromer | To extend and convert the existing garage to a self-contained annexe, with single storey rear extension to the bungalow, without complying with conditions 2 and 3 of the earlier permission (regularise minor alterations made during construction) | 29 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| LA/26/1989 | 70 Freeman Street, Wells-next-the-Sea | Partial demolition and re-build of party wall between No. 70 and No. 68 (part retention) | 30 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1984 | 5 Blenheim Way, West Raynham | Erection of summerhouse | 2 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| CD/26/1975 | Hornsea Project Three Offshore Wind Farm | Discharge of Requirement 16 (Onshore Archaeology) of Part 4 of Development Consent Order (Planning Inspectorate Ref: EN010080) | 29 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1973 | Cromer Radar Station, Hungry Hill, Northrepps | Replacement of the existing radar and radar tower, erection of a radar shelter and associated ancillary development | 1 October 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1969 | 87 Mount Pleasant, Walsingham | Erection of single storey rear extension and front porch to dwelling | 28 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1904 | 6 Boatmans Row, Wells-next-the-Sea | Addition of first floor windows and juliet balcony, and ground floor doors, to rear elevation | 28 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1901 | Joshua Cottage, 8 The Street, Morston | Erection of detached domestic outbuilding (garden shed) in the grounds of dwelling | 28 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1808 | Driftway Farm, The Driftway, Felbrigg | Barn conversion into residential unit | 30 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1663 | Land south of The Old Rectory, Walsingham Road, North Barsham | River restoration project to improve the River Stiffkey (water quality, climate change resilience, hydromorphology); excavating a new channel in the floodplain | 30 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1520 | Ruston House, Chapel Road, East Ruston | Single storey extension to outbuilding | 30 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| PF/26/1357 | The Workshop, Greenway Lane, Fakenham | Change of use from commercial workshop (upholstery repair service) to retail (charity shop) - retrospective | 28 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
| EF/26/0996 | Oakfield, 77 Cromer Road, North Walsham | Lawful Development Certificate for formation of new vehicular access Cromer Road and driveway to the front of the property; rear of the property to be enclosed with standard, like-for-like, panel fencing | 29 September 2026 | Pending Consideration |
Decided
| Ref | Location | Proposal | Decision | Decision date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PF/26/1664 | Strawpacks Barn, Blakeney Road, Glandford | Conversion of loft space to create additional bedroom accommodation, introduction of additional roof lights within existing first floor space and re-location of vehicular access gate within the site | Approve | 30 September 2026 |
| LA/26/1645 | Lancaster House, 44 Wells Road, Fakenham | Works associated with replacement of windows to ground floor living room and two upstairs bedrooms | Approve | 2 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1636 | The Victoria Hotel, Park Road, Holkham | Installation of 2 electric vehicle charging upstands, 1 feeder pillar and underground cabling | Approve | 30 September 2026 |
| PF/26/1624 | 5 Churchill Crescent, Sheringham | Single storey rear extension, with internal alterations and changes to fenestration | Approve | 28 September 2026 |
| PF/26/1552 | Swallow Cottage, 2 Little Lane, Blakeney | Replacement of windows and doors including window enlargement; installation of new rooflights and removal of conservatory | Approve | 1 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1522 | 18-19 Market Place, North Walsham | Change of use from former bank to 2 shop units on the ground floor and basement and 3 residential flats on first and second floors | Approve | 29 September 2026 |
| LA/26/1523 | 18-19 Market Place, North Walsham | Internal and external works to facilitate change of use from former bank to 2 shop units on the ground floor and basement and 3 residential flats on first and second floors | Approve | 29 September 2026 |
| PF/26/1503 | Air Defence Radar Museum, RAF Neatishead, Birds Lane, Neatishead | Removal of external wall finishes of existing cafe building and replacement with composite cladding; replacement of windows and doors | Approve | 30 September 2026 |
| LA/26/1462 | Air Defence Radar Museum, RAF Neatishead, Birds Lane, Neatishead | Removal of external wall finishes of existing cafe building and replacement with composite cladding; replacement of windows and doors | Approve | 30 September 2026 |
| PF/26/1490 | Land adjacent to 11 Station Road, Sheringham | Removal of phone box to facilitate installation of global street hub unit with associated illuminated advertisement screens on both sides of unit | Refuse | 29 September 2026 |
| ADV/26/1491 | Land adjacent to 11 Station Road, Sheringham | Installation of 1 global street hub unit and associated illuminated advertisement screens on both sides of unit | Refuse | 30 September 2026 |
| PF/26/1424 | 1 Jubilee Close, Erpingham | Change of use of single storey wooden cabin from garden office to dog groomers (retrospective) | Approve | 1 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1417 | 8 Long Lane, Southrepps | Render over external wall insulation to solid wall rear extension and first floor solid wall area; solar PV panels to the roof | Approve | 2 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1408 | 7 Green Farm Barns, Thursford Road, Little Snoring | Erection of one and a half storey side extension | Approve | 1 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1380 | 4 Town Houses, The Street, Calthorpe | First floor rear extension to dwelling | Approve | 1 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1141 | 7 Long Lane, Southrepps | Render over external wall insulation to solid wall rear extension and first floor solid wall area of dwellings; solar PV panels to the roof | Approve | 2 October 2026 |
| PF/26/1147 | The Mallows, 119 Lower Street, Horning | Erection of front porch, and demolition of rear extension and erection of replacement rear extension | Approve | 30 September 2026 |
| PF/26/1114 | 5 Eden Close, Bacton | Erection of single storey rear extension, two storey side extension, front porch and single storey outbuilding | Approve | 1 October 2026 |
| PF/26/0882 | East Quay Boatyard, East Quay, Wells-next-the-Sea | Demolition of existing boat shed and erection of replacement metal boat shed | Approve | 29 September 2026 |
| PF/26/0763 | Wood Norton Hall, Hall Lane, Wood Norton | Erection of detached ancillary garage to north, and detached ancillary stable block to east | Approve | 30 September 2026 |
| PF/26/0498 | Flat 15 Grange Court, Cliff Avenue, Cromer | Replacement of existing rotten timber windows with timber and uPVC windows | Approve | 28 September 2026 |
| CL/26/1521 | Ruston House, Chapel Road, East Ruston | Certificate of existing lawful development for erection of detached timber cabin for use by the occupiers of Ruston House for purposes including a studio/retreat incidental to the residential use of the dwelling | Was Lawful Use | 30 September 2026 |
| CL/26/1477 | 9 North Walsham Road, Trunch | Existing use of wooden cabin at the rear of the garden as a residential annexe in connection with 9 North Walsham Road | Was Lawful Use | 1 October 2026 |
| CL/25/1661 | Fern Bank, Carr Lane, Roughton | Certificate of Lawfulness for existing use of land for siting of two caravans for residential occupancy | Was Not Lawful | 30 September 2026 |
CL/25/1661 was received on 28 July 2025 and validated on 29 May 2026; its list status shows "Unknown" and the outcome above is taken from its decision field.
Major infrastructure
The four offshore wind projects were checked by reading each project's page on the Planning Inspectorate's national infrastructure site on 7 October 2026. None shows an update dated 28 September to 4 October 2026.
| Project | Latest update shown | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Hornsea Project Three (EN010080) | 10 May 2024 | Project page |
| Norfolk Vanguard (EN010079) | 15 September 2026 | Project page |
| Norfolk Boreas (EN010087) | 22 September 2026 | Project page |
| Sheringham and Dudgeon Extension (EN010109) | 7 February 2025 | Project page |
Two planning items above relate to this area: CD/26/1975 (Hornsea Project Three, Requirement 16) and PF/26/1973 (Cromer radar replacement). Neither has a decision yet.
YOUR MONEY
Temporary accommodation. On 29 September 2026 the council reported that it had acquired and refurbished a four-bedroom property as temporary accommodation, using Local Authority Housing Fund grant. The property has 8.5kW solar PV, an 18kWh battery and a 6kW air source heat pump. Council news item
Contracts Register. The register's landing page is live (Contracts Register). The register is a downloadable spreadsheet, and its rows were not read for this issue, so no contract changes are reported. No committee meeting that reports budgets or accounts was held in the window.
JOBS & TENDERS
The council's careers page lists five vacancies. The page shows closing dates but no posting dates, and this is the first issue, so which vacancies are new this week cannot be determined.
| Vacancy | Department | Salary | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Housing Pathways Team Leader | People Services | £41,177 to £45,529 | 18 October 2026 |
| Economic Growth Manager | Sustainable Growth | £53,051 to £58,671 | 1 November 2026 |
| Local Government Lawyer, Commercial Property | Legal | £41,177 to £50,908 | 25 October 2026 |
| Senior Planning Officer | Planning | £41,177 to £45,529 | 18 October 2026 |
| Temporary Register | not stated | not stated | open |
Open tender: PROC158, Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) services to support the Local Plan. The council's page does not show a closing date in the text read. Contracts and tenders
THE COUNTDOWN
A search of gov.uk, norfolk.gov.uk, suffolk.gov.uk and north-norfolk.gov.uk returned no item dated 28 September to 4 October 2026 on the Norfolk and Suffolk mayoralty. This was a search of official sites and is not exhaustive.
HAVE YOUR SAY
Three council consultations are open. All three close by 22 October 2026.
| Consultation | Closes | Source |
|---|---|---|
| North Lodge Park, Cromer: proposal to appropriate land for a small pay and display car park | 5pm, Thursday 15 October 2026 | Council news item |
| Tunstead with Sco Ruston Neighbourhood Plan | Monday 19 October 2026 | Consultations page |
| Homelessness and Rough Sleeping Strategy 2026-2031 | Thursday 22 October 2026 | Consultations page |
ON THE HIGH STREET
The licensing registers were not covered this week. The temporary event notices, street collections, house-to-house collections, personal licences, taxi and private hire, gambling and skin piercing registers are published as PDF files. Their text could not be read in the built-in browser on 7 October 2026: the text layer of each file returned empty. This section therefore reports no new notices, collections or licences, and that is not a finding that there were none.
| Register | Result |
|---|---|
| Temporary Event Notices (TENs) register | Register is a 46-page PDF; its text could not be read in the built-in browser (text layer returned empty). |
| Street collections and house-to-house collections registers | Register PDFs located; their text could not be read in the built-in browser (text layer returned empty). |
| Personal licences register | Register is a PDF; its text could not be read in the built-in browser (text layer returned empty). No list from a previous week exists to compare against. |
| Taxi and private hire register | Register is a PDF; its text could not be read in the built-in browser (text layer returned empty). No list from a previous week exists to compare against. |
| Gambling premises, clubs and small society lotteries registers | Registers are PDFs; their text could not be read in the built-in browser (text layer returned empty). No list from a previous week exists to compare against. |
| Skin piercing register | Register is a PDF; its text could not be read in the built-in browser (text layer returned empty). No list from a previous week exists to compare against. |
| Caravan and campsite sites licensing register | The landing page shows a last-updated date of 5 June 2026, the same date as at the 27 September 2026 check. The register file itself was not re-read. |
HOW IT WORKS
The North Norfolk Briefing is a weekly summary of the public business of North Norfolk District Council. Each issue covers one Monday to Sunday week and draws on the council's planning register, committee papers and decisions, news page, consultations, contracts and tenders page, careers page and licensing pages, together with the Planning Inspectorate's pages for offshore wind projects. Every item links to its primary source. Where a source could not be read, the issue says so and gives the test that was run. Parish and town council business is not currently covered. The briefing reports what the public record says and does not offer opinion.
The North Norfolk Briefing is published by Verified Brief. All information is drawn from publicly available sources including council minutes, planning records, procurement registers, and official government publications. Links go directly to primary source documents. Nothing in this newsletter constitutes opinion, legal advice, or political commentary.